January Wrap Up, February Plans

So a few months ago, I started planning out my writing projects month to month, and at the beginning of January I did something I’ve never done and I planned out a TBR. Now I used to think of TBRs as terrible things that were regimenting this wonderful thing of reading. I now completely disagree with that. My TBR helped me get way past what my initial goal was, which is especially great since I didn’t read much between the middle of highschool and the tail end of college and still feel like I have a lot of literary catching up to do.  My initial reading goals for January were

 

  • Finish reading The Ocean At The End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman
  • Finish reading the Welcome to Nightvale Novel

These were both novels that I’d started just after Thanksgiving and had been dragging my feet on. Then January 10th came around and I had finished both books. So I added on

  • Read Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell
  • Read Blood Rites by Jim Butcher (Dresden Files book 6)

I finished Fangirl in one weekend, and I’m about halfway through Blood Rites. Now, I also had a comics TBR for myself which was

  • Saga, Volume 3
  • Saga, Volume 4
  • New 52 Harley Quinn, Volume 1

These I did not get to. I’m hoping to catch up on my comics in the coming month, so those are still on my list. Now, in terms of my projects, my goals were:

  • Finish a draft of my NaNoWriMo novel, no matter how terrible
  • Plan out short story submissions for the year

I have a terrible habit of finding calls for short stories at the last minute, trying to write something then giving up because I didn’t have enough time, so this year I planned out the four competitions I will be submitting to this year, the first one being the Nivalis short story competition at the end of February. I also managed to complete my first really terrible, horrible, no good, very bad draft of my novel.

Now for February!

Reading goals for February:

Novels

  • Finish Blood Rites (I’m about halfway through)
  • Finish Boneshaker by Cherie Priest
  • Read Nightlife by Rob Thurman (The first book in the Cal Leandros Series)

Comics

  • Saga, Volume 3
  • Saga, Volume 4
  • Sandman, Volume 1

 

Projects

  • Start editing Mark of Life
  • Write and edit my short story submission for the Nivalis competition

Of course I will still be doing other work on my Patreon and on youtube, but these are my big reading and writing goals for the month. Do you guys have any big TBR goals or project goals coming up?

Leave a Reply

