Last Month, Next Month

     Alright, I’m doing it, see? Another week, another blog post! Hello wagon, I’m on you!

     This is going to be a bit of a long post, so if you’d just like to look forward to what’s coming up, going ahead and jump down to the bottom

Last Month – April

TBR Success!

     I finally finished one of my TBR books! I finished the Dresden Files book that I said I would finish for something like two months in a row, and I have started reading Night Life, by Rob Thurman which is the first book in the Cal Leandros series.

Paring Down Success!

     One of the things that I noticed over the last few months is that I have ideas. Dozens and dozens of ideas for podcasts, books, novels, etc.. You name it, I’ve probably had a thought about it. Being at a self publishing panel last month at C2E2 however, one of the panelists quoted Joss Whedon:

“I don’t have a problem with ideas. I have thousands of ideas. I don’t have time to tell all the stories I like, I only have time to tell the stories that I love.”

     This kept bouncing around in my head, so I sat down with a list of all the ridiculous number of projects I had managed to pile on to myself and made a decision as to which projects I would sideline for the time being and which projects I would continue to work on. In the end I decided that I would work on

  • Editing my novel                            how_to_overcome_writers_block
  • Short stories anthology
  • Planned submissions
  • Alice (This is a project that will take a long time to work on that is just an ongoing idea that I like to play with)

This may sound like a lot as it is, but keep in mind, prior to this, I was also considering a comic I had started writing, at least two podcasts, another comic that was in my head, another book series that I have outlined, and the list goes on and on and on and on and.  . . .

Another goal of mine for this blog is that I will be getting more completed stories posted on here. I have a lot of rough and first drafts that some of my patrons get to see on my Patreon page, but I haven’t been spending the time to sit down and edit any of them in to real stories. This will also feed in to anthology that I am hoping to put together and likely self publish eventually.

 

Youtube

     As you may or may not know, I also run a youtube channel that has been just as neglected as my poor blog. I did some rearranging, reconfiguring, and planning and have finally gotten a schedule down, some content planned and will be posting a new video every Wednesday. My schedule will look like this:

  • First week of the month – Tea Talks – Short discussion on a random topic.
  • Second week of the month – Review – A comic book, or literary book review
  • Third week of the month – Review – A video game review (I will be live streaming much of my game play for these as well)
  • Fourth week of the month – Candid Comics – Monthly video of me and about four other people reading and discussing a new comic every month.

If you do get the chance to check out these videos, please feel free to leave constructive feedback, suggestions for future books, games or discussions.

Submissions

     Last month I submitted my work to a contest for the first time in my life. I entered a short story in the Nivalis Short Story Competition. Even if I don’t end up on the short list, I’ve finally broken my pattern of saying that I’m going to submit and then backing out, and of that I am very proud.

Patreon/Commission 

Patreon-header

     I have added new rewards levels to my Patreon page, that I am insanely excited about and am almost have way to my first goal which just makes me so bouncy and happy.  I have finally gotten myself a profile on a freelance work website. I am considering adding a page on here regarding commissions. Any feedback regarding this subject in particular is very welcomed as commissions are something I don’t have much experience in.

Whoof, that’s a lot of things. Let’s take a look at what’s coming up.

 

This Month – May

TBR

My May TBR is going to be pretty conservative, with just two books.

  • Night Life by Rob Thurman

12966716._UY200_

  • On Writing, by Steven King

31+ckWRhoAL._BO1,204,203,200_

Youtube

  • 5/4 Tea Talks – Do we have to have a love interest?
  • 5/11 Review – Chew, by John Layman and Rob Guillory
  • 5/18 Review – TBD (I am still picking the game for this month)
  • 5/25 Candid Comics – Poison Ivy: Cycle of Life And Death Issues 1 – 3

 

Submissions

     May 1st is the deadline to submit to the Conium Review Innovative Short Fiction contest, and I will be submitting a story.

 

Book Con

I am so incredibly excited to be attending Chicago Book Con on May 14th!

 

This Blog

     I will likely be doing some revamping here, but my basic goals for this blog will be

  • Actually post once a week. Like a real person.
  • Post a finished short or flash fiction story each month

 

Thank you all so much for sticking with me, and reading this tomb of a post. The winds of changing are blowing all through my life, and I’m so excited to see where they take me!

Leave a Reply

