New Years Resolutions

Its that time of year again, where people make decisions about what they want to change about themselves in the new year. I usually do this around my birthday since that makes more sense to me than a random date on the calendar, but this year was crazy around my birthday so here we are, almost at the end of December, and its time to look around and forward. Here are my goals for 2017 (outside of helping to make it not the garbage fire that 2016 ended as):

 

  • Attend At Least 2 cons

I have only ever been to C2E2 (Chicago Comic and Entertainment Expo) and while I’m SUPER stoked to have gotten  a professional pass for this year’s event, I also really want to expand my convention experiences. A lot of things go in to this obviously, from day job stuff, to being able to afford transportation, passes and anything at the convention itself, but I want to make a trip to at least 1 other convention this year.

  • Take Care of My Body

At the beginning of 2016 I decided to give myself this year to see if I could get my mental health under control through exercise, meditation, and some very extensive introspection. I’m very happy to say that my mental health is probably the best it has been in years, that my anxiety attacks  and depressive episodes have been severely reduced, and that I have learned a multitude of ways to help control both of these in my daily life so that I’m not just surviving, but being able to fully experience and move forward with my life.

That being said, I have not taken care of my body as well as I have my mind. I have gained some weight, and my chronic physical issues are beginning to rear their heads again. So in 2017, I am making it a goal to get my body healthy and happy again.

  • Make More Art

This started in 2016, and got a BIG push from my Patreon and my supporters, but more than that I’ve realized all the things that I missed in my life are art. I missed making music and painting especially. As I go in to 2016 I have a beautiful new ukulele and am planning paintings to work on, with a hope for teaching myself some digital drawing and painting as well. I am more and more finding the things that make me truly happy, and making art of all kinds is the biggest one. One of my goals early in the year is to finish the book I’m writing and edit it. Another is to, within this year, hit at least the $1500 per month goal on my Patreon.

  • Be More Me

Anyone who has been through years of anxiety, depression, or abuse can tell you, when you start to emerge on the other side of it, there is a sense of being “you” again. Its taken the last few years for me to get to that point, but now that I really feel like me, I intend to turn my volume up to 10. From the way I dress to the way I speak and what I make, this year I want to be as authentically me as I can. It sounds simple, but coming out of anxiety and depression brain, you have to kind of remind yourself who you are, and I intend to be her 100 percent.

  • Travel

This ties in to almost all of the above resolutions. I love to travel, and for the last few years I have had the goal of going to at least 1 place every year that I’d never been to before. in 2013 I visited Asheville Tennessee and move to Chicago. In 2014 I visited my friend in Austin, Texas. In 2015 and 2016, however, my finances and life situations conspired to keep me Chicago bound. 2017 will be different. I have a running list of places in the US and outside of the US that I want to go, and I intend on knocking at least one of these off my list this year.

2016 was rough for a lot of people, but the last few years have held some really amazing forward movement for me as a person, and I can’t be upset about that. What are your goals for 2017?

 

 

Leave a Reply

