Whelp, Its Been a Month

Which is way way longer than I ever like to go without posting. 2 weeks is my usual, and I like to keep it that way. This month is bringing a lot of life changes and some much much needed perspective. Posts and stories are going to be starting up on here again. I also have my own website up, zmsarts.com which is also going to be housing all of my blog posts and stories. Don’t worry, For now they’ll all still be up here.

 

If you want to keep up with what I’m doing, please consider singing up for my email list by clicking here. I won’t give anyone else your email, but I will send you updates on my latest stories, endeavors and my art in general.

 

Now that those updates are out of the way let’s get honest for a minute. Over the last few years I’ve become less apologetic about not sticking to my own schedule if I am missing it for some specific reasons. The reason that my content has slowed down was for several reasons. One was that I decided to take a step back and look at how I was managing my different platforms and see which ones I really wanted to focus on and develop. Ultimately I feel good about this, because it means I can focus better on how to develop and create and put out work. The second reason is simple: I started therapy. Its a wonderful thing, and I am already seeing its benefits, but therapy can be overwhelming and exhausting. I also made the decision to leave my current day job and to move by the end of the month.

Let’s be clear about something: This isn’t an apology. An explanation, yes, because I feel the responsibility to provide it. But looking back at this month, I haven’t been posting on here because I’ve been getting my feet under me. If you go through you tubers channels or almost any blog, you can find a myriad of apology posts and videos, where the creator begs forgiveness for their perceived transgression. When it comes down to it, where creative people are concerned, we are the product and producer, the artist and the manager. We feel a great responsibility to our audience and to ourselves to create well crafted work on a regular basis. But if we don’t take the time to stop when we need to, we burn out and that feels awful. One day I will get to the point where I can plan breaks ahead of time and have material prepped. Today is not that day.

 

But today is the day that I stop making my work more important than myself, which feels like I stepped toward avoiding burnout in the long term.

 

Okay that’s enough rambling for today. Check back in on Wednesday for a new story, and until then, stay creative.

 

Leave a Reply

